Every December my church puts out a schedule that helps you read through the Bible in a year. There are many such schedules, some of which get you through the Bible in a year and others that proceed at a more leisurely pace.

Answers in Genesis has a link to a resource that lets you go through the Bible in a year using audio files instead of reading it aloud or to yourself. You can use the default plan or change the settings if you want to do it differently. The version they use is NIV and the audio files require a RealOne player; their page has a link if you don’t have that kind of audio file player.

I was thinking about reading through the Bible in a year recently. Someone in my Sunday school class shared an interesting idea about that a few months ago. The idea was to read through the Bible each year using a different translation. I tend to be a one-translation type of gal. I like the NASB and I tend to stick with that. But earlier this year I purchased a Holman Christian Standard Bible and I also have an English Standard Version that I haven’t read much. There are lots of ways to read through the Bible in a year. If you have a favorite method, why don’t you post about it in the comment section below?

